In this lesson for Voice Memos on the Mac, we look at how to delete and recover a deleted voice memo in the new Voice Memos app on the Mac.
Deleting a Voice Memo
To delete a voice memo, you just swipe to the left while having your cursor over a voice memo in the sidebar. If you swipe about halfway across, you’ll see delete. Click on delete and then click on Remove. You can also just swipe all the way across to delete a voice memo in one move.
Viewing your Deleted Voice Memos
When you delete a voice memo, it moves it into the Recently Deleted folder. If you do not see this folder on the sidebar, you have not deleted a voice memo yet. It is created after you delete a voice emo. Click on it to see all your deleted voice memos. They will stay in this folder for about 30 days. After that, they will be deleted permanently.
Erasing a Voice Memo Permanently
To erase a voice memo permanently, you just swipe to the left over the voice memo while it is in the Recently Deleted folder. You’ll see Erase when you do this. This will erase the voice memo and you will not be able to recover it. You can also click on the voice memo you want to erase and then click on Erase in the upper right corner of the Voice Memo app. To erase all your voice memo in your Recently Deleted folder, you click on Erase all at the bottom of the sidebar.
Recovering a Deleted Voice Memo
To recover a deleted voice memo before it is erased, you need to select the voice memo in the Recently Deleted folder. From there you click on Recover in the upper right corner of the Voice Memo app. This will move it out of the Recently Deleted voice memo folder and back to where all your voice memos are. To recover all your voice memos, you click on Recover All at the bottom of the sidebar while in the Recently Deleted folder.
See this Lesson Action
To see this lesson in action, take a look at the video above.